What do I need to start a DROS?
- Valid California ID/Driver’s License
- Birth Certificate OR Valid Passport
- FSC Card
- Proof of Residency (State Registered): Gas/Water/Electric Bill
- Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) Permit
- Car Registration
- Notarized copy of Rental Agreement/Contract
- Fishing/Hunting License
- *Proof of Residencies must have your name and current address
- *There are other options for Proof of Residency if none of the above applies to you. Speak with our Sales Team to verify what documents will/won’t work.
How much is it for an FFL Transfer? What's the process?
If you’re only shipping in one firearm, it’s $75. If shipping in multiple from the same location, the first is $75 and every additional is $25. If the seller needs our FFL license, you can find that on our website at the very top of the page.
Do you do PPT's?
Yes! We do not require appointments, it is all walk-in based. There are no fees for PPT’s, the buyer will only need to pay for their background check (DROS) and Firearm Safety Certificate (Where applicable).
Do you offer the FSC test? How much does it cost?
Yes! The FSC test costs $25, and we only charge if you pass.
Do you do gunsmithing? How much does it cost?
Absolutely! Our gunsmithing pricing is generally $80/hr, but we also have more specific pricing per job. Give us a call for more info!
Are high capacity magazines legal in California?
Magazines that have a capacity higher than 10 rounds are not available for purchase in California UNLESS you are a Law Enforcement Officer.
How do I find out if the gun I want is on roster?
Checkout the California Handgun Roster on the DOJ website. Here is the link:https://oag.ca.gov/firearms/certified-handguns/search
How do I register a firearm that I already own to my new address?
To register a firearm that you already own to a new address, you must use CFARS to request the address change.
How do I register a firearm that was passed down to me?
To register a firearm that was passed down to you, for example a firearm that was inherited due to the death of an individual, you must use CFARS to request the registration be transferred to your name & address.
Why can't I get my gun the same day that I do paperwork?
In California, firearms are required to go through the DROS system that has a 10-day wait (Which can sometimes be longer) while they run a background check and determine firearm eligibility.
What do I need to purchase ammo?
All ammo purchases, whether or not they were bought directly from Rifle Supply, require the customer to go pass an Ammo Background Check before they can take their ammo home. We only charge $1 for this same-day background check (you won’t have to wait 10 days like a firearm DROS). The purchaser is also required to have a registered firearm in their name..
Can I ship a firearm from your FFL?
Yes! If you’re only shipping in one firearm, it’s $75. If shipping in multiple from the same location, the first is $75 and every additional is $25. If the seller needs our FFL license, you can find that on our website at the very top of the page.
How do I ship in a firearm to get work done on it?
Follow our step-by-step guide for shipping-in firearms for custom work!https://riflesupply.com/Shipping-In-A-Gun_ep_47-1.html